The Autumn Is Finally Here!

As we all know, the season of autumn begins with the Autumnal Equinox — Mabon. And like I probably mentioned before, autumn is my favourite season. I absolutely love the rainy weather, the autumn leaves, the harvest… and absolutely everything that is connected with autumn. Yesterday we had some strong winds in my area, and as I was walking home from school, I realised that while I was gone (I was on the Natural Science camp with my classmates last week), the horse chestnuts have ripen. Before I continue, just to let you know, horse chestnuts aren’t edible. To see the difference between horse chestnuts and sweet chestnuts (also called marrons) look at the two photos below.

Horse Chestnut
(Photo credit: HorseChestnutExtract.org.)

Sweet Chestnut, Also Called Marron
(Photo credit: ArcturusClinic.co.uk.)

So, as I was walking, there was a lot of chestnuts laying on the ground, due to strong winds. I started to gather the chestnuts. I think that they look very gorgeous and “autumny”, and I use them as a decoration every year. But besides their use for decoration, my grandmother uses them for healing purposes. She crushes the chesnuts and pours homemade spirit (approx. 55–65 % fruit spirit) over them. Then, she leaves the chestnuts to soak in the spirit for an amount of time. This mixture is a home remedy for rheumatism and muscle cramps. She has this problems because of her age and as a result of hard work, and this chestnut tincture really helps her. Below, there are some photos I took on my way home.

A part of my way home from school goes through a chestnut tree-lined pedestrian way. This is where I gather my horse chestnuts.

A horse chestnut laying on the ground. It is still in its green spiky coat.

Another photo of two chestnuts. I love their shiny brown colour.

A close-up photo of a horse chestnut.

This is a pillow, filled with rosemary leaves I have bought on Saturday. It was a good bargain — I paid €6.00 instead of €12.00. The pillow smells absolutely beautiful, and the rosemary on it is actually hand drawn.

Some of you have been asking me about how was it on my Natural Science camp. I have to tell you I had a very good time actually. I wasn’t looking forward going to the camp, but it was better than I excepted. We were measuring temperature, pH, salinity and presence of different ions (nitrates, nitrides, phosphates, ammonium etc.) in the sea water. We were exploring the seaside ecosystem, the geological history of the area we were at, and visited an oceanographic station. The camp was fun, I have learned some new things and it was nice to learn “outside in the world” instead of listening to the professor’s lecture for a change.

About Cassandra

Merry meet, my name is Cassandra and I am a Witch who began her Magical Path in the autumn of the year 2011. If you want to learn more about me and my Magic, visit my blog Book of Shadows. Blessed be.
This entry was posted in Daily Aritcles, My Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Autumn Is Finally Here!

  1. sammiwitch says:

    Thanks for sharing your photos; they are lovely. I like the last one when you can just see a glimpse of the chestnut inside. Brightest Blessings

Leave a Comment

