A Witch’s Craft: Drawing Magical Symbols with Watercolour Pencils

This is my how-to for creating magical symbols using watercolour pencils. I recommend this method for drawing symbols and other images in your book of shadows or just if you love to draw in your free-time. In this how-to, I will draw a triquetra that will look just like the one above, when finished. I hope you will enjoy this how-to and try to draw your own magical symbol.

What Shall You Need:

  • paper
  • a stencil (optional)
  • a sketching pencil (2B)
  • watercolour pencils (black + three colours)
  • two brushes (size 2 and 5)
  • some water

Instructions:

Step 1: Sketch your magical symbol on a piece of paper, using a sketching pencil.

Step 2: Use black watercolour pencil to outline the sketch you’ve drawn.

Step 3: Colour your symbol.

Step 4: Use the size 2 brush to paint water over the black outline of your symbol.

Step 5: Use the size 5 brush to paint the remaining part of the symbol. When you are done, leave your symbol to dry.

Tips & Notes:

  • Use this method to draw other symbols: pentacle, triple moon etc.
  • If you use too much water, your outline may get smeared.
About Cassandra

Merry meet, my name is Cassandra and I am a Witch who began her Magical Path in the autumn of the year 2011. If you want to learn more about me and my Magic, visit my blog Book of Shadows. Blessed be.
This entry was posted in Witch's Crafts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Witch’s Craft: Drawing Magical Symbols with Watercolour Pencils

  1. sammiwitch says:

    Your triquetra looks lovely 🙂 Brightest Blessings

  2. byronycoffin says:

    My girls are getting so creative. I wish I could draw. I wish I could make beautiful things. Instead I own Beautiful Wiccan Things. I know that, that is cheating but I love my bedroom. In fact I can’t hardly leave my bedroom anymore. I hate this feeling. But soon I’m getting Direct TV in my bedroom. It’s HD and it will have HBO, SHOtime, Starz, and Encore. Now unless I need to eat or do some housework. Really mild housework. Anyway, I have a envy problem with anyone with artistic abilities. I have to many things to do to to keep my time moving along but I’d love to sit down and draw a beautiful picture of the goddess and I’d love to make my own magickal symbols and sigils. I’d love to do that kind of stuff. Now I’m all depressed about being unable to do creative things. I can however write. I am glad about that. At least I think I can write. Your my girl Cassandra and I’m glad your my friend. Brightest Blessings. Byrony

    • Cassandra says:

      Hi Byrony!
      I’m sorry to hear you can’t draw really well. You can always print the outline, and then colour the inside of the symbols, I think that is a good idea. Anyway, I’m happy to hear you are getting a new TV, although I don’t know the channels you mentioned. I believe in you, and think that every person can do what they really wish to do good. So, just try, and if doesn’t go well the first time and the second time, just remember, third time is the charmed!
      Blessed be,
      Cassandra.

  3. I would definitely have to trace mine! 😉 Thanks, this is really cool. I suck at trying to draw triquetras freehand.

    • Cassandra says:

      Hi Daphne!
      Thank you for stopping by and commenting. 🙂
      If you maybe haven’t noticed, I used a stencil I made to draw the Triquetra above. I admit I’m not very good at drawing Triquetras freehand too.
      Blessed be.

Leave a Comment

