Sabbats and My Tradition

On 1st August we celebrated Lammas (also know as Lughnasadh). As you probably noticed, I haven’t published an article in honour to the Sabbat. And I have several reasons why. I see myself as a witch and not really as a Wiccan. Wicca is a religion, while being a witch and practicing witchcraft is more like a way of living, in my opinion. I of course do think that witches should honour the nature and its changes — what Sabbats do —, but they also interpret the changes from the aspect of the Goddess and the God. I don’t think that anything’s wrong with that, but we don’t believe in the same deities and a particular tradition may interpret the seasons, for example, very differently than another tradition. That’s why I don’t feel the connection with some of the eight Sabbats. When I realise a Sabbat is nearing, I am like “Lammas is on Wednesday. What should I do?” At the end what I did was, I lighted a candle and burned some incense, and that was kind of all. I haven’t got to the Sabbats section in my book of shadows yet, so, I admit, I wasn’t the best witch for Lammas. 😦

But all of that is going to change, soon. On The Witch of Howling Creek blog, I won a giveaway, and I shall receive Llewellyn’s Sabbats Almanac 2013. I promise I will make a review of the almanac, and show you the photos. I just hope really deeply that it won’t get lost in mail. It was ordered at Amazon.com, and I have never bought anything via the internet in my entire life (what some of you probably find absolutely horrifying :-)). I also have never received a parcel from overseas, and I just hope I will got it. Just to inform you about the almanac, this is the description from the official website Llewellyn.com:

Make the most of each season of the Witches’ year with Llewellyn’s Sabbats Almanac. Packed with rituals, rites, recipes, and crafts, this essential guide offers fun and fresh ways to celebrate the eight sacred Wiccan holidays — and enrich your spiritual life throughout the year.
Get a unique perspective on honoring the Wheel of the Year from your favorite Wiccan and Pagan authors. Plan spiritually uplifting celebrations and family activities. Perform Sabbat specific rituals and world folk rites. Whip up tasty treats and crafts as reminders of the season’s gifts and lessons. Also featured are astrological influences to help you plan rituals according to cosmic energies.

I will create more detailed review as soon as I receive the almanac. Blessed be.

About Cassandra

Merry meet, my name is Cassandra and I am a Witch who began her Magical Path in the autumn of the year 2011. If you want to learn more about me and my Magic, visit my blog Book of Shadows. Blessed be.
This entry was posted in Daily Aritcles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sabbats and My Tradition

  1. I often celebrate the sabbats with just a candle and a thank you.

  2. byronycoffin says:

    Greetings my sweet Cassandra. If you don’t want to celebrate the sabbats, then don’t. I did have a ceremony to make my holy water. However the wind was blowing and my candles wouldn’t stay lit but it needed to be outside because I needed the light of the moon. I left them outside overnight and at the same time I had my crystals cleansed in the moon light in sea salt and rose water. Even without the candles my alter was beautiful. I love to create a beautiful alter. Anyway I have the almanacs, all of them and I have yet to use them. Call Azure Green and ask them about those kinds of books because I can gets you a discount or add it to my order and get some real discounts. Were going to try and save you some money if we can and I’ll ship it to you. I have such good feelings about you Cassandra, if you lived close we could use my supplies and have a ceremony every day. We continue to be great friends and I’m lucky to have your friendship, we could start a coven and it’d be special. I am lonely practicing by myself. I wonder if I could call you one day and we could put our heads together once a week and talk about magick. I love magick so much and today I got a ton of the Nature Nature incense they have so much resin on them, it’s thick and it drips from them and they’re so strong smelling. If I. Had your address I. Could send you some. Well that is enough of my bullshit for one day. I enjoy your posts. So please get in touch with me sometime soon and we’re going to talk. Brightest Blessings my dear friend. Byrony.

    • Cassandra says:

      Hi Byrony,
      you might have understood me wrong. I love celebrating the Sabbats, I just don’t feel the connections with some of them, and therefore I don’t know what to do. And now that I’ll have the Llewellyn’s Almanac, I will be able to preform the rituals to honour the Sabbats. I also have a ritual to create my holy water, first I prefrom the ritual inside and then, I place the bottle of water on my window ledge on a night of the full moon, with the moon light shining upon the water. You can try that, if you want. Then, you won’t get your candles blown by the wind. Thank you for liking my articles and commeting. I send you an email on August 5th. Did you get it?
      Blessed be,
      Cassandra.

      • byronycoffin says:

        Greetings my friend, I celebrate the sabbats don’t get me wrong but sageing and alter set up outside this time was a pain in the ass. I did respond to your email but things must have gotten lost in the laundry if you know what I mean girl. I responded with my phone and maybe that’s not such a good idea and maybe it doesn’t work like that. I’ll respond if you can send it to me if you still have it. I might. My body feels like someone beat me with a club. I enjoy your posts very much. Please keep in touch with me no matter what girl. Brightest Blessings. Bryony.

Leave a Comment

