Book of Herbal Remedies

I dedicate this article to a fellow blogger and a friend, Byrony (KristenCoffin). On Thursday, Byrony had a back surgery that didn’t go so well, and now she is in even more pain, due to a damaged nerve. As I probably mentioned in one of my articles, I have a book that has herbal remedies for dozens of diseases. The book is not available in English, at least I didn’t come across it, but I think there is a German version (which comes in handy only, if you speak the language). It is called Home Pharmacy by Simon Ašič. I hope, Byrony, that you will read this article, and that it will help you, and other readers with similar problems. Before using any of the following remedies, be sure you aren’t allergic to a particular substance in a herb and consult with your doctor, if necessary.

Spine

  1. Teas: horsetail (Equisetum arvense), yarrow (Achillea millefolium) and sage (Salvia officinalis).
  2. Baths: with infusions of wild thyme (Thymus serpyllum), horsetail (Equisetum arvense) or yarrow (Achillea millefolium).
  3. Massages: arnica (Arnica montana; in spirit or oil), comfrey (Symphytum officinale; extract), lady’s bedstraw (Galium verum; ointment), yarrow (Achillea millefolium; extract), a patch with fluid and non-heated pine resin (put it on the site of pain for 12 days). For massages, you can also use spirit, in which horse-chestnut was soaked (put three chesnuts — together with the peel — in ½ l of spirit. Add sea salt that was sautéed until yellowed. Leave in a warm place for 24 hours. Massage the spine before going to sleep).
    Note: When lubricating the spine, always start at the bottom!
  4. Compresses: with an infusion of horsetail (Equisetum arvense).

Nerves

(Pain, not nervousess.)
  1. Teas: valerian (Valeriana officinalis), lemon balm (Melissa officinalis), peppermint (Mentha x piperita), dandelion (Taraxacum officinale), rosemary (Rosmarinus officinalis), lavender (Lavandula angustifolia), St. John’s wort (Hypericum perforatum), primrose (Primula vulgaris) and rue (Ruta graveolens).
  2. Dishes: juniper (Juniperus communis; eat 12 berries per day, if you have healthy kidneys), brown bread (with wine), milk soup (with brown bread), warm milk (a sip every 2 hours).
  3. Compresses: with hay debris.
  4. Steam Baths: with an infusion of chamomile (Chamaemelum nobile) or pine oil.

Legs

  1. Painful Legs
    1. Teas: nettle (Urtica dioica), horsetail (Equisetum arvense), yarrow (Achillea millefolium).
    2. Baths: with infusions of nettle (Urtica dioica), good King Henry (Chenopodium bonus-henricus; add some salt and vinegar), wolf’s-foot clubmoss (Lycopodium clavatum) or wormwood (Artemisia absinthium).
    3. Compresses: with comfrey (Symphytum officinale; leaves and roots, crushed in a pulp), male fern (Dryopteris filix-mas; when walking a lot, put it in your shoes), oat straw or hay debris (every 2–3 hours, when having throbbing pain in the legs), and Swedish bitters.
  2. Knee Pain
    1. Teas: nettle (Urtica dioica), horsetail (Equisetum arvense) or Swedish bitters (15 drops, three times per day, with water).
    2. Baths: with an infusion of horsetail (Equisetum arvense).
    3. Massages: nettle (Urtica dioica; soaked in spirit, massage in the morning and evening).
    4. Rubbing: with sweet flag (Acorus calamus; extract).
    5. Compresses: with comfrey (Symphytum officinale; soaked powder), clay, an infusion of arnica (Arnica montana), coltsfoot (Tussilago farfara) and lady’s mantle (Alchemilla vulgaris; all three herbs together), infusion of chamomile (Chamaemelum nobile), hay debris, pine resin (put non-heated resin for 7 days on the knee) or Swedish bitters.

Source: Home Pharmacy by Simon Ašič (1987; Spine: p. 48–49, Nerves: p. 133–134, Legs: p. 75–76)

About Cassandra

Merry meet, my name is Cassandra and I am a Witch who began her Magical Path in the autumn of the year 2011. If you want to learn more about me and my Magic, visit my blog Book of Shadows. Blessed be.
This entry was posted in Daily Aritcles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Book of Herbal Remedies

  1. Wolfy says:

    Good to know thìs. Thanks.

  2. byronycoffin says:

    Dearest Cassandra, Goddess Bless you. I am so sorry that I’ve taken some time to get back to you on this article but I’ve been laying down and god my back hurt where the needles went into my spine and my feet are a hot zone and if you graze my calf it’s an interesting thing. He gave me Lyrica I know you’ve all seen the commericals. I just don’t know what to say. You went to so much trouble for me and I’ll keep this post forever I promise and Monday I’ll call Azure Green and order some of the herbs you say I need and teas. What a wonderful friend you’ve been to me and I will never forget how good you’ve been to me. I can’t believe I’ve got such a friend but I do, I have you Cassandra. I am currently doing what the doctor told me to do so I don’t feel much. He increased my Narco to eight. That is a lot. You would and hopefully never will know the pain of someone digging around in your spine. It shoots lightning bolts down your legs and things are bad. Pray for me my Wiccan Brothers and Sisters. I know your out there because you reply to my articles. I am going to try to write a post tonight because I feel it’s important to go on no matter what hurts and why. I am so lucky to have you Cassandra and I am lucky to have anyone think of me at all because I am Wiccan I have very few friends. The two I did have were up at the doctors office when I walked out of the back where they did the procedure and they had to drive an hour. I am so lucky to have someone near by to love me with there Wiccan Love. But I just thank my lucky stars I’ve got a friend named Cassandra from across the pond, who is my greatest friend and supporter. Merry Meet, Merry Part, and Merry Meet Again Cassandra. Your my girl.
    Bright Blessings.
    Byrony

    • Cassandra says:

      Dear Byrony,
      I’m so happy to hear that you shall buy the herbs. I believe in herbs’ healing powers, and I happy you do too. I think that drugs and all sorts of pils aren’t natural; in addition, almost all have nasty side-effects. And it wasn’t trouble at all to make a special article that may help a friend. Hope you will be better soon.
      Brightest blessings,
      Cassandra.

  3. byronycoffin says:

    My darling dear I hope you got the message I left on the other blog of this name and I hope you get to read it and if you don’t I’ll send you the message again. Bright Blessings. Byrony.

Leave a Comment

