Eco-Friendly Blogs

I’m not only a witch, but also a person who really cares about the environment. I realise that eco-friendliness isn’t really connected with witchcraft (and my blog for that matter), but I believe that our environment is very important. So, I decided that I will sign-up my blog at kaufDA.de, which plants a tree for your blog, to neutralise your blog’s carbon footprint for the next 50 years. This is a short description from the website:

According to a study by Alexander Wissner-Gross, Ph. D., physicist at Harvard University and environmental activist, an average website causes about 0.02 g of carbon dioxide for each visit. Assuming an average blog gets 15,000 visits a month, it has yearly carbon dioxide emissions of 3.6 kg. This can mainly be tracked back to the immense energy usage from (mainframe) computers, servers, and their cooling systems. The United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) assumes a yearly absorption of one tree of approximately 10 kg carbon dioxide emissions. Make it green, the environmental programme of kaufDA, is using a yearly absorption value of 5 kg for its “My blog is carbon neutral” initiative. This is a very conservative calculation, ensuring that the neutralisation of each blog is achieved.

So, if you want to help the environment, visit kaufDA.de and sign-up now (it’s free).

I am really trying to live green: I always turn-off the lights when I’m not in the room, I don’t leave appliances on when I don’t use them, when I flush the toilet I don’t let all the water out if it isn’t necessary, I also recycle, garden… I’m so happy that I don’t live in one of those big cities, full of concrete, without any green plants. My town has approximately 100,000 inhabitants, and it has lots of trees (even in the centre). And the water doesn’t need to be chlorinated, because of its pureness.

It’s very important to at least try to live green, the nature has a right to thrive and live. Visit TheDailyGreen.com for green tips!

P. S.: If you sign-up your blog at kaufDA.de, you will also get a lovely My blog is carbon neutral button (you can see it in the sidebar).

About Cassandra

Merry meet, my name is Cassandra and I am a Witch who began her Magical Path in the autumn of the year 2011. If you want to learn more about me and my Magic, visit my blog Book of Shadows. Blessed be.
This entry was posted in Daily Aritcles, My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Eco-Friendly Blogs

  1. It's a Wiccan Life says:

    I try to be as green as possible to. This is such a neat idea! I think I will sign up.

  2. earthfae says:

    Wow…I never realized that about computers and carbon.

    Thanks for the link

  3. Chrissy says:

    I also garden and do what I need to do to take care of my family. I never would have figured that my computer would leave a carbon footprint. But I guess it does make sense. Loving your blog!

Leave a Comment

